Summer unscripted Jen Klein

Summer unscripted Jen Klein

  • $12.00
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 5 left!

A summer romance about missed connections and how not to miss out on the love of your life. For fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han.
hardcover edition 
 
Girl looks for a sign. Enter: boy.
 
Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler—quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that literally puts into words exactly how she’s been feeling lately, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?
 
Girl follows boy. Enter: second boy.
 
Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But the monologue that totally got Rainie was actually written by Milo, a super-cute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicated past.
 
Girl needs to figure stuff out. Enter: drama.

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up—High school junior Rainie Langdon has a "finishing" problem—she never finishes anything. She flits from activity to activity until dreamy Tuck performs a monologue that expresses Rainie's sense of aimlessness perfectly. Rainie enlists Ella, her ex—best friend, to help her follow Tuck to a summer theater program in Greece, where Rainie can make Tuck fall for her. By tracking Rainie's budding self-awareness, Klein breathes new life into the classic story of a girl chasing the wrong boy, all the while unaware that the right one has been there all along. Miscues, misdirection, and unspoken desire create the tension that drives the narrative forward. The great hidden romantic truth will be evident long before the very public reveal, but the laugh-out-loud dialogue and Greek mythology—based comedic stage antics, including slapstick scenes, paired with the subplot of the maturing friendship between Rainie and Ella, will deeply satisfy readers. While there is no cathartic moment of self-discovery for the protagonist, she does complete the summer program and find the right partner to support her. She begins senior year with a better understanding of her strengths and an open mind, empowered to rely on her own talents and interests and less concerned with what others might think of her. The book contains mature themes such as underage drinking. VERDICT Recommended for teens who appreciate campy summer romances with a comedic Greek thespian backdrop. Purchase where the works of Jenny Han or Sarah Dessen are popular.—Eva Thaler-Sroussi, Glencoe Public Library, IL

Review

"Give this novel to readers who love stories about the bonds of friendship with a side of romance.” —VOYA

"This is a bright and breezy romance." —Publishers Weekly

"An entertaining and even touching romance." --Publishers Weekly (for Shuffle, Repeat)

"Addictive. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen will enjoy this sweet romance." --SLJ (for Shuffle, Repeat)

About the Author

JEN KLEIN is the author of Shuffle, Repeat.When she’s not writing YA novels, Jen is an Emmy-nominated television writer, currently writing on the series Grey’s Anatomy. She lives in Los Angeles. Visit her online at jenkleinbooks.com and follow her on Twitter at @jenkleintweets.


We Also Recommend